Academic Standards Committee logo


Committee Minutes

Academic Standards Committee
Minutes 4/13/04

Members Present:

            Deans:  Rick Roth, Sharon Braverman, Olusegun Odesina
            Student Affairs:  Jane Higgins
            Registrar:  Susan Petrosino
            Admissions:  Myrna Garcia-Brown
            Arts and Sciences Faculty:  Chris Doyle, Robert Dunne, Susan Gilmore,
            David Smith, Charles Waiveris
            School of Business Faculty:  Gene Baten, Kathy Czyrnik
            Education and Professional Studies Faculty:  Mary Pat Hager

Guest:  Matt Warshauer (newly elected member)

Members Absent: 

            Dean, School of Education and Professional Studies;
            Peter Osei, Barry Westcott, Paul Resetarits   

The meeting was called to order at 2:35 p.m.

MOVED:  To approve the minutes for t he meeting of March 2, 2004.

                   Smith/Roth.  Approve:  All


  1. The committee returned to the question of how Pass/Fail hours are counted in determining full-time students’ eligibility for the Dean’s List.  The catalogue presently states that “hours carried” are to be counted.  The committee’s discussion centered around the idea that Pass/Fail hours should be included in determining that students are, in fact, full-time students and therefore eligible for the Dean’s List if their P/F hours make them full time, regardless of whether or not they are full-time if those hours are not included.  Therefore, the committee voted to direct the Registrar to ask for an editorial change in the catalogue description of calculations for the Dean’s List in the following way:

“To clarify calculations of Dean’s List eligibility for full-time students, we recommend that ‘hours carried’ be replaced in the catalogue with ‘hours earned’ in the catalogue description of Dean’s List calculations.”

Motion to direct the Registrar to ask for the editorial change in the catalogue.

Moved: Czyrnik/Smith.  Vote:  9 in favor, 1 abstention.

NEW BUSINESS:  Mary Pat Hager is seeking volunteers and nominations for next year’s Academic Standards chairperson, vice-chairperson, and secretary.  Voting will take place at the next meeting.

Move to adjourn:  Smith/Czyrnik.  Adjourned at 3:30.

Next meeting is scheduled for May 4 at 2:30.



Copyright © 2003 [Central Connecticut State University]. All rights reserved.
Last modified:Thursday May 15, 2003