University Administration and Governance

The 1982 Connecticut General Assembly created the Board of Governors for Higher Education replacing the Board of Higher Education. The Board is charged with providing long-range planning and enhancing cooperative ventures in higher education in the state. The BOG also has statutory authority to license and accredit programs and institutions in the state. To this end, the four State Universities, the Community and Technical Colleges, the University of Connecticut, and private institutions of higher education cooperate with the Board. The Board consists of eleven members, seven appointed by the Governor, and four by the General Assembly. The Board maintains professional staff including the Commissioner for Higher Education and offices in Hartford. The staff of the Board of Governors comprises the Department of Higher Education.

Central Connecticut State University, and the three other state universities, operate under the supervision of the Board of Trustees for the Connecticut State University. Created by the General Assembly in 1965, the Board consists of sixteen members including two student representatives and two alumni representatives from the four universities. The Board has its offices and professional staff including the President of the Connecticut State University system at Henry Barnard Hall on the campus of CCSU. In addition to Central, the Board has jurisdiction over Eastern Connecticut State University in Windham, Southern Connecticut State University in New Haven, and Western Connecticut State University in Danbury.

A CCSU organizational chart is attached as Appendix A. It provides a view of the formal channels of communication and reporting lines.

Central Connecticut State University operates under a system of shared governance. The Faculty Senate is the Universityís major deliberative body which makes recommendations to the President of the University. All actions are taken in accord with the various collective bargaining agreements and by the policies and procedures established by the Board of Trustees and the Board of Governors.

There are also many university committees with responsibilities for specific areas of concern. Some of these report to the Senate and some to individual administrators. It is through the committee structure that most important decisions are deliberated and ultimately put into force. Thus, the bulk of this document is devoted to a description of these committees and their responsibilities.

In general, decision-making is kept as close to the point of impact as possible. Thus, choices regarding pedagogy are, within wide limits, left to the instructor, whereas decisions about the Universityís mission which affect the whole University, are ultimately decided by the Faculty Senate and the President. Most situations requiring action, of course, fall between these two extremes.