Academic Standards Committee logo


Committee Minutes

Academic Standards Committee
Minutes 9/19/03

Members Present:

            Deans:  Rick Roth, Sharon Braverman, Anne Pautz
            Student Affairs:  Jane Higgins
            Registrar:  Susan Petrosino
            Admissions:  Myrna Garcia-Brown
            Arts and Sciences Faculty:  Chris Doyle, Robert Dunne, Susan Gilmore,
            Peter Osei, Charles Waiveris
            School of Business Faculty:  Gene Baten
            Education and Professional Studies Faculty:  Mary Pat Hager

Members Absent: 

            Dean, School of Technology
            C. David Smith, Mathematics; Barry Westcott, Chemistry; Carol Williams,             Nursing, Paul Resetarits, Manufacturing and Construction Mgmt.

The meeting was called to order at 2:30 p.m.

MOVED:  To approve the minutes for t he meeting of 4/22/03.

            Mary Pat Hager/Peter Osei.  In Favor:  All.


Peter Osei graciously agreed to be nominated as Vice Chair for this year.  There were no other nominations.  Peter was elected unanimously, and will serve with Susan Gilmore (Chair) and Chris Doyle (Secretary).


The committee considered two measures rejected by the Faculty Senate at its May meeting and one item not acted upon by the Academic Standards Committee at the end of last year, per Matt Warshauer’s e-mail of 5/6/03 that Susan Gilmore had forwarded to ASC members.

  1. Academic Misconduct Withdrawal Policy:  Although the Policy was rejected by the Faculty Senate, Matt’s sense was that “most senators were in favor of some sort of a policy,” but that there was some problem with language.  Bob Dunne suggested that the ASC reconsider the idea, and after some discussion, it was agreed that a sub-committee consisting of Bob Dunne and Jane Higgins would consult with new Judicial Officer Chris Dukes about the legalities involved and return to the committee with a proposal next month. 
  1. Honor Pledge:  There was no interest in returning to this at this time.
  1. Non-Matriculated Students:  Some numbers on how many non-matriculating students we have and how many credit hours they have been accumulating had been provided to the committee, with a concern that many students were exceeding the 30 credit limit but nothing was being done about it.  The committee took no action on this last year, however.  It was suggested that the committee could invite Peggy Schuberth to our next meeting to address this issue so that we might begin to resolve it.  Susan Gilmore will contact her about this. 


  1. Several issues were raised concerning eligibility for the Dean’s List, initially based on an e-mail from Susan Petrosino.  Chiefly at issue are Pass/Fail courses and incompletes, for both part-time and full-time students’ eligibility.  Susan Petrosino, Sharon Braverman, Gene Baten, and Susan Gilmore agreed to serve on a sub-committee to examine this issue and to draw up a proposal to address it by the time of the November meeting. 
  2. Sharon Braverman suggested that the committee discuss the length of the add-drop period at the next meeting.  That was general agreement that the committee do so.

 At 3:30 it was MOVED to adjourn:  Waiveris/Doyle.  In favor:  All.


Next meeting:  November 7, 2:30 p.m.


                                                                                    Respectfully submitted,

                                                                                    Christine Doyle


Copyright © 2003 [Central Connecticut State University]. All rights reserved.
Last modified:Thursday May 15, 2003