Our Mission


The Center for Public Policy and Social Research (CPPSR), making use of the full range of University resources, is dedicated to enriching the quality of public policy, public service, applied research, University outreach, and community engagement throughout Connecticut, nationally and internationally.



Fulfilling the Mission


Working closely with its affiliated units, CPPSR carries out its mission with vigilant adherence to the principles of academic freedom, non-partisanship, sound ethics and respect for diverse community values. In implementing these principles, CPPSR provides its staff with opportunities for professional development and personal growth to better serve the public good.


Designated as a Connecticut Higher Education Center of Excellence and housing the Governor William A. O’Neill Endowed Chair in Public Policy and Practical Politics, CPPSR utilizes expert faculty, dedicated staff, motivated student research assistants and state-of-the-art technology to provide a wide range of professional training, research, program evaluation, analysis and consulting services to municipal and state governments, public policymakers, not-for-profit organizations and the greater community.


CPPSR develops and facilitates faculty and student projects that advance their scholarship, community engagement and applied research experiences. CPPSR believes that by providing students with opportunities for hands-on experience in the policy-making process, in which they can help to make a measurable difference in improving the quality of life for their fellow citizens, students will be encouraged to engage in public service.


Through its archival and oral history programs, CPPSR promotes greater understanding and appreciation of the significant contribution of Connecticut’s citizens to our state and nation.


CPPSR further serves Connecticut by providing a forum for the framing and debate of a myriad of current, critical public policy issues, and by collaborating with faculty and academic departments to identify and develop non-partisan, evidence-based policy options.



Governor William A. O'Neill Public Service Award

Eileen M. Daily-2014 Recipient

On September 15, O’Neill Endowed Chairholder Eileen Daily was named the 2014 recipient of the Governor William A. O’Neill Public Service Award by the Middlesex County Chamber of Commerce. The Governor William A. O’Neill Public Service Award, presented since 2002, is awarded to an individual who has performed outstanding public service for Middlesex County and the State of Connecticut. The award is named after Governor O’Neill, who dedicated himself to public service during his tenure as a State Representative, Lieutenant Governor and Governor.

October 6, 2014 - Special O'Neill Archives Advisory Board Meeting

Clockwise from far right: Madelyn Sowinski, Rich Balducci, Dave McQuade, Eileen Daily, Tony Milano, Steve Kliger, Dick Foley, Con O'Leary, Awilda Reasco, John Pasco and Suleman Butt.

September 25, 2014 - Confucius Institute (CI) Director Steve Kliger in attendance at a reception with Ambassador, Consul General Sun Guoxiang, at the Chinese Consulate in New York City


Left to right: Deputy Consul General Zhang Meifang, Barbara Reiner, Ambassador Sun Guoxiang, Consul General and Confucius Institute Director Steve Kliger

Far left: US Senator Chris Murphy, center: O'Neill Endowed Chairholder Eileen Daily, 4th from left: CCSU President: Jack Miller

O'Neill Chair Welcome Luncheon


June 17, 2014 – Senator Eileen Daily was formally welcomed to CCSU as the newly appointed Holder of the O’Neill Endowed Chair in Public Policy and Practical Politics, housed in CPPSR.


CCSU President Jack Miller greeted an audience comprising state office holders and regional policymakers, CCSU faculty and staff, and family, friends and colleagues of Senator Daily. Also in attendance was special guest Mrs. Nikki O’Neill.


Amidst attendees were Connecticut’s Lt. Governor Nancy Wyman, Attorney General George Jepsen, Commissioners Donald DeFronzo, Edith Prague and Kevin Sullivan, Senator Martin Looney and numerous other sitting an former legislators. Representing NEASC (the New England Association of Schools and Colleges) was its President Cam Staples.


Senator Daily, who retired in 2013 for the State Senate after 20 years in office, is the third Holder of the Chair, succeeding William Dyson who succeeded the first Chairholder, the late Governor William A. O’Neill.


Thanking all for their well wishes, Senator Daily expressed  her eagerness to put her expertise to work for CCSU and its academic departments – work that is already underway in partnership with CPPSR.

June 17, 2014 - O'Neill Chair Welcome Luncheon - slide show


Go Here to watch VIDEO