Chair, Executive Committee:

Jacob Werblow, Teacher Education, 860.832.2474,


Susan Koski, Criminology, 860-832-3088,


Diversity Workshops

Beth F. Merenstein, Sociology, 860.832.3174,

Diversity Assessment Project

Carolyn Fallahi, Psychology, 860.832.3114,

Curriculum Subcommittee:

Carolyn Fallahi, Psychology, 860.832.3114,

Paul Karpuk (Chair), English, 860.832.2774,

Beth F. Merenstein, Sociology, 860.832.3174,

Programming Subcommitte/Public Outreach:

James French, Teacher Education, 860.832.2426,

Roberta (Bobbie) Koplowitz, Athletics, 860.832.3172,

Laura Marchese, Institutional Advancement, 860.832.2554,

Viatcheslav Naoumov, Engineering, 860.832.1820,

Reginald Simmons (chair), Criminology, 860.832.3134,

Jacob Werblow, Teacher Education, 860.832.2474,

Web-site Maintenance:

Carolyn Fallahi, Psychology, 860.832.3114,

Facebook Page Maintenance:

Audra King, Philosophy, 860.832.3677,


Carolyn Fallahi, Psychology, 860.832.3114,

Lisa Frank, Finance and Law 860.832.3261,

James French, Teacher Education, 860.832.2426,

Paul Karpuk, English, 860.832.2774,

Roberta (Bobbie) Koplowitz, Athletics, 860.832.3172,

Susan Koski, Criminology, 860-832-3088,

Laura Marchese, Institutional Advancement, 860.832.2554,

Beth F. Merenstein, Sociology, 860.832.3174,

Viatcheslav Naoumov, Engineering, 860.832.1820,

Reginald Simmons, Criminology, 860.832.3134,

Jacob Werblow, Teacher Education, 860.832.2474,

Meeting Dates

September 9, 2012 October 9, 2012 November 13, 2012

December 11, 2012 February 4, 2013 March 4, 2013

April 1, 2013

We held two retreats during the summer of 2012 for all our executive committee members. At the retreat we discussed the vision of the FSDC and refined our vision for the coming year.

1) Programming

Chair: R. Simmons

The Committee met monthly via email or in person for planning of the April 16, 2013 Cady School Visit to CCSU event and the CRM Klingburg Peer-Mentoring Pilot in March, 2013.


$500 grant to support the Cady School Visit event was received from the CCSU Office of Diversity and Equity.


Approximately 10-15 Boys from the Caty High School Detention will visit Central Connecticut State University and sit in on a class taught by Dr. Merenstein, attend a rocket launch by Dr. Naoumov, meet with representatives from admissions, and meet the players of the men’s basketball team.

The Klingburg event involved CCSU students from the CRM and Psychology student clubs visiting the facility and speaking to the youth about college.

2) Curriculum Sub-Committee

Chair: P. Karpuk

Five new courses were added for D-designation and potentially 2-3 from Sociology are in processing.

  • EDSC 425 Principles of Secondary Education (Werblow)
  • EDTE 314 Applied Learning Theories (K-12 Programs) (Werblow)
  • EDTE 316 Principles of Learning (Sec / K-12) (Werblow)
  • EDTE 210 Education & Teacher Leadership in Diverse Learning (French)
  • EDEL 322 Effective Elementary Teaching (French)


The sub-committee continued to recruit interested faculty in either participating in the d-designation workshops or in submitting courses to the ongoing d-designation list. As of April 2012, there are 7 d-designation courses with an additional 5 coming though the curriculum committee. Our goal is to achieve 25 d-designation courses by May 2013.

3) Website Committee

Chair: C. Fallahi

Changes to the website for the year involve routine updates: membership, adding FSDC meeting minutes, etc.


4) Review 2012/2013

In April, the FSDC voted to make three policy changes to the by-laws with the aim to both: (a) raise the ability of the FSDC to be responsive to the student population and (b) increase the participation and activity of our general membership:

  • Attendance / participation expectation: At the beginning of each semester, the Chair of the FSDC will contact all current members to determine a meeting time that works for the greatest number of members. Members who cannot attend due to conflicts of schedule can choose to resign for that semester or join and attend one of the FSDC subcommittee meetings.
  • D-designation course expectation: Each FSDC member who teaches a course is expected apply for at least one D-designated course.
  • FDSC outreach to student group: In an effort to better advocate for students regarding issues of diversity on campus, each member of the FSDC is expected to become a liaison for at least one student group by either attending monthly meeting of the student group or by having monthly contact with the student president of the group.


The FSDC hoped to secure a permanent funding stream from the Provost’s Office this year. C. Fallahi met with the Provost twice in hopes of securing funding to establish new programs (including a diversity badge / recognition for undergraduates, an cohort model professional development program, and a Diversity Minor) and to produce evaluation reports of d-designated courses. Unfortunately, at this point, there is no commitment for funding from the Provost. The FSDC currently has no annual budget. C. Fallahi and J.Werblow, however, applied for two separate Summer Curriculum Grants to raise some financial support towards two of these projects.

The FSDC continues to add courses with the D-designation. Five new courses have been added this year, raising the total number of courses with a D-Designation to 17.

The FSDC continues to search for better ways to promote diversity on campus, specifically by increases student (and faculty) participation of diversity related events on campus. There are a plethora of diversity-related events on campus each semester, however, many have more vacant seats than filled. The FSDC would like to be part of a solution to increase attendance at these important events, but without any funding, it has been a challenge to develop and implement meaningful solutions. As we have changed our by-laws to essentially expect more activity from our membership, we are hopeful that the university administration will increase their commitment to providing financial support necessary to create and maintain more diversity related programming in the future.

Respectfully Submitted,

Jacob Werblow, Chair, Faculty Senate Diversity Committee