CCSU Faculty Senate
Agenda—November 08, 2010

VAC 105   3:00 PM

The next meeting of the Faculty Senate is on Monday 11/22/10 in Vance 105

Note: Senate Constitution, Bylaws, Meeting Dates, Agenda and Minutes are posted on the CCSU Pipeline under Faculty Resources/Faculty Senate, or at

Present: Al-Masoud, N., Alicandro, J., Arena, J., Ayalon, A., Barr, B., Barrington, C., Bernstein, S., Berry, G., Bigley, M.P., Cappella, D., Crespi, C., Czyrnik, K., D'Addio, D., Day, B., Delventhal, T., Diamond, C. , Dziuda, D., Farhat, J., Greenfield, B.  , Hensley, P., Horan, M., Jarmoszko, A., Kapper, M., Karpuk, P., Kean, K., Kurkovsky, S., Latour, F. , Mahony, M., Mamed, O., Mendez-Mendez, S., Menoche, C., Mione, T., Mulrooney, J., Odesina, O., Osoba, B., Pancsofar, E., Passaro. M., Peer, N., Pirog, K., Pope, C., Ratansi, S., Reasco, A., Sadanand, N., Sianez, D., Sikorski, J., Thamma, R., Wang, W.

Ex-Officio: Lovitt, C., Pease, S., Sakofs, M.

Parliamentarian: Dimmick, C.

Guests: Murphy, G., Tordenti, L.

1. Approval of Minutes, October 25, 2010

Moved for approval by Senator Mendez-Mendez; seconded by Senator Delventhal. Passed unanimously (PASSED)

2. Announcements
    a. AAUP President (G. Murphy)

There will be a Holiday party on 12/8 from 3-7 in the CT room.

    b. SUOAF-AFSCME  (O. Mamed)

No Announcements

    c. President of the Senate (C. Barrington)

1.    On Thursday, 11 November, at 10:00, the Senate and the UPBC will host an open meeting in the Student Center’s Philbrick/Camp Room. CFO Larry Wilder will make a presentation on the university’s budget and field questions.  I understand that the meeting isn’t at the best possible time for lots of you, so we will record the meeting and make it available.  Also, if there is enough interest, we will schedule another meeting.
Along these lines, you should take a look at the new website updating major projects on campus:

2.    Also, President Miller and the Faculty Senate will host the second of two fall forums on Wednesday, 17 November at 10:00 in the Connecticut Room.

3.    On 8 February 2010, the CCSU Senate passed a resolution regarding our relationship with the CSU Chancellor, the Board of Trustees, and the System Office:

The CCSU Faculty Senate resolves that, because too much power in the hands of the Chancellor harms the individual CSU universities, the CCSU Faculty Senate urges;  (1) the BOT reverse its October 2009 policy so that the full Board shall initiate and be fully involved in decisions of non-continuation of university Presidents, and (2) the BOT ensure the independence of the four universities by resisting further efforts to centralize decision making in the System Office.

    Until recently, the resolution had resulted in little more than a series of letters exchanged by the BOT chairman, Karl Krapek, and me. Over the summer, the state legislature held hearings on the policies our resolution questioned and the Attorney General’s office investigated the policy, issuing a legal opinion that it was illegal.  And, as our resolution urges, the BOT rescinded the October 2009 policy at its most recent meeting.

    This episode provides a salient reminder that change can happen.  It might not happen quickly, it might not happen all it once.  To effect that change, however, requires that we remain alert, ready to ask questions, and prepared to articulate the sort of changes necessary to make CCSU a vibrant place to study, teach, and work.

3. Committee Reports

    a. Curriculum Committee report from meeting of 11/3/10   FS.10.11.010B

The report was passed unanimously (PASSED).

    b. Elections Committee

The results from the Fall 2010 Elections are as follows:

CCSU Trustees Research Award Committee
    Runoff election from Spring 2010
    Timothy Reagan (Education and Professional Studies)

    Full Professor from the School of Arts and Sciences
    John Mitrano

Promotion and Tenure Committee
    Full Professor from the School of Arts & Sciences
    Abigail Adams
    Full Professor from the School of Engineering & Technology
    Cheryl Watson

    Associate Professor from the School of Business
    Kathy Czyrnik

    Associate Professor from the School of Education and Professional Studies
    Jesse Turner

    Full Professors At-Large
    Guy Crundwell (Arts and Sciences)
    Carlotta Parr (Arts and Sciences)

Sabbatical Leave Committee
    Runoff election from Spring 2010
    Olga Petkova (Business) will serve a 2-year term
    Michael Gendron (Business) will serve a 1-year term

    Librarian or Councilor
    Ewa Wolynska (Library)

Termination Hearing Committee
    Full-Time Faculty Members
    Kathy Czyrnik (Business)
    Adele Miller (Arts and Sciences)

4. Old Business
    Academic Calendar 2011-15

Provost Lovitt addressed questions regarding the schedule of the winter session. He presented a spreadsheet of winter session dates for the years 2011-15. The spreadsheet is self-explanatory and shows how that the proposed dates are workable and will avoid overlap with the fall and spring semesters.

Questions were raised about the difficulty of teaching courses abroad starting in 2013 when the winter session will begin before December 24th. The conflict with the holiday schedule may make course abroad offerings difficult to manage.

5. Adjournment at 3:25