Minutes - September 28, 2015 - 3:05pm


Present: Anderson, C.; Andreoletti, C.; Antonucci, C.; Arena, J.; Bantley, K.; Baratta, C.; Bigelow, L.; Bilisoly, R.; Boscarino, N.; Button, C.; Callery, T.; Cistulli, M.; D'Addio, D.; Dharavath, N.; Doolittle, W.; Duquette, J.; Emeagwali, G.; Emiliani, B.; Flinn, B.; Foster, P.; Fothergill, W.; Garcia-Bowen, M.; Ghodsi, R.; Givens, E.; Hanford, D.; Harris, D.; He, F.; Horan, M.; Jackson, M.; Johnson, D.; Kapper, M.; Karpuk, P.; Kean, K.; Kim, Y.; King, A.; Kotowicz, T.; Koulidobrova, H.; Kullgren, A.; Larsen, K.; Latour, F.; Lim, K.; Mahony, M. A.; Martin-Troy, K.; McGuire, M.; Mendez-Mendez, S.; Mongillo, M.; Nelson, W.; Paolino, J.; Pearson, F.; Phillips, E.; Pozorski, A.; Ragusett, J.; Rudzinski, H.; Sadanand, N.; Santoro, K.; Spear, E.; Strickland, A.; Sweeney, D.; Tellier, A.; Troiano, P.; Watson, S.; Williams, C.; Wood, R.

Ex-Officio: Adair, S.; Fitzgerald, G.; Lovitt, C.; Malhas, F.

Parliamentarian: Dimmick, C.

President of the Senate: Cohen, S.

Guests: Caroline Fox (SGA); Phil Halloran (Mathematical Sciences); Brian Sommers (Geography); Thomas Rein (Anthropology)

1. Minutes

a. Minutes of September 14, 2015

    • Approved unanimously

2. Announcements:

a. AAUP President (M. A. Mahony)

    • There will be a chapter meeting on Friday, October 2, at 10am, in the Marcus White Living Room.
    • Mark Ojakian is the President of the Board of Regents, effective today.
    • Tomorrow, at 3pm, in the Connecticut Room, there will be a workshop on renewals for untenured, tenure-track faculty.
    • The AAUP Negotiating Team has prepared its contract proposals, based on surveys of members that were reviewed by the Council in May. The team has 9 members, two of whom are from CCSU, and they met all Summer.
    • The AAUP media campaign continues; "Like" the CSUConnects page on Facebook and invite your friends in Connecticut to do the same. Many stories about the work of our colleagues have appeared in the media.

b. SUOAF-AFSCME President (L. Bigelow)

    • The SUOAF-AFSCME member survey on the subject of the upcoming contract negotiations is closed, but if you have ideas for contract proposals, please send them to Lisa Bigelow and Chris Dukes, the CCSU members of the SUOAF-AFSCME Negotiating Team.
    • Many SUOAF-AFSCME events are coming up, including an e-board meeting on October 13 and a social on October 15.
    • There will be a CIO search this year, and SUOAF-AFSCME has one representative on the search committee.

c. SGA (C. Fox)

    • The SGA elections are September 28 through 30; encourage your students to vote online at Collegiate Link.
    • The Town and Gown committee meets on September 28, to discuss the relationship between CCSU and the City of New Britain.

d. FAC to the Board of Regents (S. Adair)

    • The next meeting of the FAC will be on Friday, October 9.

e. President of the Senate (S. Cohen)

    • A committee is being formed to discuss implementation of the recommendations from last year's report on online learning. Committee members are: Kristine Larsen, Glynis Fitzgerald, Talat Salama, Martha Kruy, Pankaj Nagpal, Thomas Burkholder, David Oyanadel, Tom Jarmoszko, plus a member from Academic Standards.

3. Elections

a. Vice President of the Faculty Senate

    • The candidates, Senators Paul Karpuk and Mark McGuire, each made a speech to the Senate. The elections committee conducted the election by secret ballot, and Paul Karpuk was elected Vice President of the Senate.

b. Committee on Committees

    • Senators Bishop, Larsen and Martin-Troy were elected to the committee.

c. Committee on Academic Freedom

    • Senators Duquette, Mendez-Mendez and Wood were elected to the committee.

d. Committee on Constitution and By-Laws

    • Senators Emiliani and King were elected to the committee.

e. Committee on Appointments and Personnel

    • Senators Bigelow, Hamilton and Garcia-Bowen were elected to the committee.

4. New Business:

a. Additional DEC exception for 2015-16

    • Approved unanimously

    b. Academic Standards Committee (F. Latour)

5. Adjournment

    • The meeting adjourned at 3:46pm.