Minutes - March 6, 2017 - 3:05pm


Present: Andreoletti, C.; Anton, M.; Arena, J.; Baratta, C.; Bishop, J.; Boscarino, N.; Collins, M.; Criscola, J.; Dhar, P.; Dharavath, N.; Emeagwali, G.; Emiliani, B.; Fothergill, W.; French, J.; Gamache, J.; Garcia-Bowen, M.; Ghodsi, R.; Givens, E.; Grasso, L.; Gross, S.; Harris, D.; Horton, M.; Jackson, M.; Jarvis, K.; June, A.; Kapper, M.; Karpuk, P.; Kim, Y.; Koulidobrova, H.; Kullgren, A.; Latour, F.; Lewis, J.; Lim, K.; LoGiudice, S.; Mahony, M. A.; McGuire, M.; Menoche, C.; Mitchell, M.; Mongillo, M.; Nelson, W.; Ngazimbi, E.; Oliva, K.; Orange, M.; Paolino, J.; Phillips, E.; Sadanand, N.; Sohn, Y.; Spear, E.; Strickland, A.; Styrczula, S.; Tellier, A.; Vickrey, R.; Watson, S.; White, C.; Williams, C.; Wizevich, M.; Zering, J.

Ex-Officio: Fitzgerald, G; Malhas, F.; Sommers, B; Pease, S.; Toro, Z.

Parliamentarian: Dimmick, C.

President of the Senate: Cohen, S.

Guests: Chris Galligan (Institutional Advancement); Eric Leonidas (Graduate Studies Committee); Mark McLaughlin (Marketing and Communications); Beth Merenstein (Curriculum Committee); Cindy Pope (Geography); Ed Sarisley (Manufacturing and Construction Management)

1. Minutes

Minutes of February 27, 2017

    • Approved unanimously

2. Announcements:

a. AAUP President (M. A. Mahony)

    • Elections for CSU-AAUP and CCSU-AAUP: nominations are closed, candidates will be submitting statements and elections will be held in April.
    • The Appropriations Committee will hear testimony on Friday, March 24 about various bills; faculty members should plan on attending if possible.
    • Friday, March 31 will be the higher education unions' lobby day.

b. SUOAF-AFSCME President (L. Bigelow)

    • No report.

c. SGA (J. Effend)

    • No report.

d. FAC to the Board of Regents (S. Adair)

    • No report.

e. University Marketing Campaign (M. McLaughlin)

    • The new university marketing campaign's theme is "See Yourself at CCSU". Faculty are encouraged to contribute to this campaign. There are billboards on many of the local highways, on buses, on social media. The next Admitted Students Day will be on Sunday, March 26; we learned a lot from our first one.
    • Senators Koulidobrova, Lewis and Fothergill talked about the importance of reaching out to deaf students, to veterans, to older students.
    • Senator White wonders why the current campaign focuses on 4 cities rather than the entire state.
    • Various senators talked about how to reach out to students interested in specific programs: business (mention AACSB accreditation), engineering (show senior engineering students' projects), etc.
    • Senator Karpuk pointed out that the videos do not have much to do with academics.
    • Faculty who wish to share ideas should contact Chris Galligan and Mark McLaughlin.

f. Status of Center for Teaching and Faculty Development (G. Fitzgerald)

    • Thanks to Mary Collins and Kara Russell for their work for CTFD.
    • CTFD now has physical space on the third floor of the library (opposite ITDRC).
    • Amy Gagnon is the University Assistant for CTFD.
    • CTFD is still organizing many events: brown bag lunches, Faculty Day, etc.

g. Open Educational Resources Event (S. Clapp)

h. Petition (E. Sarisley)

    • Professor Sarisley mentioned a petition that will be presented to the Senate, requesting that the Advisory Committee for CSU Professorship give special consideration to faculty from Business and SEST.

i. President of the Senate (S. Cohen)

    • No report.

3. Committee Reports

4. Adjournment

    • The meeting adjourned at 4:14pm.