Minutes - May 1, 2017 - 3:05pm


Present: Adair, S.; Andreoletti, C.; Anton, M.; Arena, J.; Baratta, C.; Bigelow, L.; Bishop, J.; Blitz, D.; Boscarino, N.; Callery, T.; Cistulli, M.; Clapp, S.; Clark, B.; Dhar, P.; Dharavath, N.; Durant, M.; Emeagwali, G.; Emiliani, B.; Fothergill, W.; Gamache, J.; Garcia-Bowen, M.; Garcia, V.; Ghodsi, R.; Givens, E.; Grasso, L.; Gross, S.; Harris, D.; He, F.; Jackson, M.; Jarvis, K.; Kapper, M.; Karpuk, P.; Kim, Y.; Koulidobrova, H.; Kullgren, A.; Latour, F.; LoGiudice, S.; Mahony, M. A.; Martin-Troy, K.; McGuire, M.; Mejia, G.; Menoche, C.; Nelson, W.; Ngazimbi, E.; Oliva, K.; Orange, M.; Paolino, J.; Phillips, E.; Sharma, N.; Sohn, Y.; Spear, E.; Strickland, A.; Sweeney, D.; Thornton, E.; White, C.; Williams, C.; Wizevich, M.; Zering, J.

Ex-Officio: Sommers, B.

Parliamentarian: Dimmick, C.

President of the Senate: Cohen, S.

Guests: Eric Leonidas (Graduate Studies Committee); Joseph Farhat (Promotion and Tenure Committee); Nancy Hoffman (Educational Leadership, Policy, and Instructional Technology); Kate McGrath (Online Learning Committee); James Mulrooney (SEST Dean's Office); Julie Schnobrich-Davis (Academic Standards Committee)

The Steering Committee recommends the following items for inclusion on the Consent Agenda:

  • 1. Minutes
  • 4g. through 4l., various informational committee reports
    • Consent agenda approved unanimously

1. Minutes

Minutes of April 24, 2017

    • Approved as part of consent agenda

2. Announcements:

a. AAUP President (M. A. Mahony for L. Williams)

    • The Social and Chapter Meeting will be tomorrow, Tuesday, May 2.

b. SUOAF-AFSCME President (L. Bigelow)

    • The April 27 negotiation session was rescheduled because there is no SEBAC agreement at this point.
    • The BOR asked SUOAF-AFSCME for names of people who would be interested in joining the implementation teams for the "Students First" plan.

c. SGA (J. Effend)

    • No report.

d. FAC to the Board of Regents (S. Adair)

    • The FAC will report to the BOR at their meeting, on May 11.

e. President of the Senate (S. Cohen)

    • CCSU AAUP faculty members have been nominated for all 6 of the BOR's implementation teams.
    • The ad hoc committee on reassigned time may not meet until the Fall because gathering the data needed for their work is a difficult task.

3. Election of Standing Committees of the Faculty elected by the Faculty Senate

  • Ballots were distributed to voting senators. The following faculty members were elected:
    • Academic Integrity Committee: Luz Amaya-Bower, Fan He, Susan Koski, Maria Mongillo, Renata Vickrey
    • CCSU Foundation Board of Directors: Carolyn Fallahi
    • CCSU Foundation Grant Advisory Committee: Steven Johnson, Paloma Lapuerta
    • Distinguished Service Award Committee: Khaled Hammad, Lisa Washko
    • Excellence in Teaching Committee: Kuan-Pin Chiang, Matthew Orange
    • Framework Implementation and Review Committee: Mark Jackson
    • Grade Appeals Committee: Nidal Al-Masoud, Sarah Stookey
    • Library Committee: Steven Johnson, John Mitrano, Brian Osoba
    • Student Affairs Committee: Charisse Levchak, Jason Sikorski
    • University Athletics Board: Linda Clark, Diana Cohen, Christina Robinson, Lisa Washko
    • University Planning and Budget Committee: Nidal Al-Masoud, Sarah Gross, Mark Jackson

4. Committee Reports

a. Promotion and Tenure Committee (R. Benfield and J. Farhat)

    • Several faculty members asked for renewal data; they would like to see the same data for annual renewals for tenure-track faculty that we get for promotion and tenure candidates.
    • Some faculty members would like the promotion and tenure committee to provide faculty members with useful feedback, rather than just a "yes" or "no" decision. Senator Karpuk would like the P&T committee to be accountable, and would like to allow candidates to communicate with the P&T committee.
    • Report accepted by the Faculty Senate

b. Curriculum Committee (B. Merenstein)

    • Item 1.a.i. referred to the Committee on Committees; remainder of the report approved, unanimously

c. Graduate Studies Committee (E. Leonidas)

    • Approved unanimously

d. Library Committee (C. Menoche for A. Gagnon)

    • Senator Blitz expressed concerns about the practice of putting some books in compact storage while some library space is not used for library purposes.
    • Motion (Cohen/Karpuk): The Faculty Senate endorses the three recommendations of the Library Committee, as found in the committee's report.
      • Approved unanimously

e. Committee on Academic Advising (C. Andreoletti)

    • Motion (Cohen/Karpuk): The Faculty Senate endorses the Committee on Academic Advising's statement on the elimination of CACE, as found in the committee's report.
      • Approved unanimously

f. Excellence in Teaching Committee (M. Orange)

    • The Faculty Senate congratulates the two recipients of the award for this year, who happen to both be members of the Senate.
    • Report accepted by the Faculty Senate

g. CCSU Foundation Grant Advisory Committee (R. Waterman)

    • Report accepted as part of consent agenda

h. Grade Appeals Committee (T. Vasko)

    • Report accepted as part of consent agenda

i. Online Learning Committee (K. McGrath)

    • Report accepted as part of consent agenda

j. International Education Committee (L. Williams)

    • Report accepted as part of consent agenda

k. Academic Assessment Committee (M. Kruy and J. Mulrooney)

    • Report accepted as part of consent agenda

l. Student Affairs Committee

    • Report accepted as part of consent agenda

To be presented in 2017-18: Academic Integrity Committee, Advisory Committee for CSU Professorship, Community Engagement Committee, Council of Academic Chairpersons, Diversity Committee, University Athletics Board

5. New Business

a. Academic Standards Committee (J. Schnobrich-Davis / R. Boncoddo)

b. Committee on Committees

c. Approval of Candidates for Graduation

    • Approved unanimously

6. Adjournment

    • The meeting adjourned at 4:38pm.