Minutes - November 14, 2016 - 3:05pm


Present: Adair, S.; Anton, M.; Arena, J.; Austad, C.; Bailesteanu, M.; Best, F.; Bishop, J.; Bishop, R.; Blitz, D.; Boncoddo, R.; Boscarino, N.; Button, C.; Callery, T.; Clapp, S.; Collins, M.; Criscola, J.; Dhar, P.; Dharavath, N.; Emeagwali, G.; Emiliani, B.; Fothergill, W.; Gamache, J.; Garcia-Bowen, M.; Garcia, V.; Ghodsi, R.; Givens, E.; Gleason, B.; Grasso, L.; Gross, S.; Harris, D.; Jackson, M.; Jarvis, K.; Kapper, M.; Karpuk, P.; Kim, Y.; Kullgren, A.; Larsen, K.; Latour, F.; Lewis, J.; Lim, K.; LoGiudice, S.; McGuire, M.; Mejia, G.; Menoche, C.; Nelson, W.; Ngazimbi, E.; Oliva, K.; Paolino, J.; Patterson, Y.; Phillips, E.; Sadanand, N.; Sohn, Y.; Spear, E.; Strickland, A.; Styrczula, S.; Sweeney, D.; Tellier, A.; Thornton, E.; Watson, S.; White, C.; Williams, C.; Zering, J.

Ex-Officio: Fitzgerald, G.; Lovitt, C.

Parliamentarian: Dimmick, C.

President of the Senate: Cohen, S.

Guests: Michael Bartone (Literacy, Elementary, and Early Childhood Education); Tom Burkholder (AAUP); Nancy Hoffman (SEPS); Beth Merenstein (Curriculum); Thomas Rein (Anthropology);

1. Minutes

Minutes of October 31, 2016

    • Approved unanimously

2. Announcements:

a. AAUP President (M. A. Mahony)

    • AAUP members are encouraged to vote in the special election.
    • The Day of Action at the State Legislature will be on January 26, 2017. It is an opportunity for those in higher education (whether CSU, CC or UConn) to have our voices heard by the legislature.
    • The chapter meeting is tomorrow, 3:15pm, in the Marcus White Living Room.

b. SUOAF-AFSCME President (M. McGuire for L. Bigelow)

    • The SUOAF-AFSCME social will be on Thursday, at 4:30pm.

c. SGA (J. Effend)

    • Mr. Effend was unable to attend, but sent an e-mail to the Secretary of the Senate, who read it: My only announcement was that this is the final week of competition for a cause and we are working on an Affordable Textbook Campaign.

d. FAC to the Board of Regents (S. Adair)

    • BOR Chair Matt Fleury came to the FAC meeting and had questions for the members of the committee.
    • The FAC would like to ask the legislature to amend the law to allow FAC members as voting members of the BOR. The FAC would like our support on this.
    • The BOR awards application deadline is November 23.

e. President of the Senate (S. Cohen)

    • The new Online Learning Committee has been formed and is ready to work.
    • The NEASC review process has begun; the entire campus needs to be aware of the process. There will be an open forum on December 5, from 1 to 3pm, in Founders Hall.

3. Committee Reports

a. Curriculum Committee (B. Merenstein)

Note: Many of the links on this report are broken; for a version that includes working links, including a link to the Business Pathway, please see the report on the Curriculum Committee website.

  • Business TAP presentation
  • Senator Blitz pointed out that some of the course equivalencies on the BOR TAP website are, at least for Philosophy, 22 years out of date. It turns out that the BOR website came from our transfer equivalencies website, and thus departments should contact the Admissions Office to update information.
  • There was considerable discussion on the various program changes; many education programs are being modified to reduce the number of required credits to 120. In most cases, the reduction was accomplished by removing EDF 415 and free elective credits, which means that the programs will have no or very few unrestricted free electives. This is not ideal; NEASC guidelines mention free electives (although they are not too specific).
  • It seems that the Music Education program, as well as the Engineering and Engineering Technology programs, will apply for a BOR waiver so that they can remain at 130 credits.
  • Senators would like to see a complete list of the program changes that were made in order to comply with the BOR's 120-credit policy.
  • The question was called (2 senators opposed).
    • Curriculum report approved (1 senator opposed)

4. New Business

5. Adjournment

    • The meeting adjourned at 4:06pm.