Minutes - October 17, 2016 - 3:05pm


Present: Adair, S.; Angkhavong, S.; Anton, M.; Arena, J.; Austad, C.; Bailesteanu, M.; Best, F.; Bigelow, L.; Bishop, J.; Bishop, R.; Blitz, D.; Boncoddo, R.; Boscarino, N.; Broadus-Garcia, C.; Callery, T.; Cistulli, M.; Clapp, S.; Clark, B.; Collins, M.; Criscola, J.; Dhar, P.; Dharavath, N.; Emeagwali, G.; Emiliani, B.; Forsythe, C.; Foster, P.; Fothergill, W.; Garcia-Bowen, M.; Ghodsi, R.; Givens, E.; Gleason, B.; Grasso, L.; Jackson, M.; Jarvis, K.; Kapper, M.; Karpuk, P.; Kim, Y.; Larsen, K.; Latour, F.; Leonidas, E.; Lim, K.; LoGiudice, S.; Mahony, M. A.; Martin-Troy, K.; McGuire, M.; Mejia, G.; Menoche, C.; Nelson, W.; Paolino, J.; Phillips, E.; Price, W.; Puleo, T.; Sadanand, N.; Sohn, Y.; Spear, E.; Tellier, A.; Thornton, E.; Troiano, P.; White, C.; Williams, C.; Zering, J.

Ex-Officio: Malhas, F.

Parliamentarian: Dimmick, C.

President of the Senate: Cohen, S.

Guests: Jahmil Effend (SGA); Beth Merenstein (Curriculum Committee); Ed Sarisley (Manufacturing and Construction Management); Robert Wolff (UPBC)

1. Minutes

a. Minutes of September 26, 2016

    • Approved unanimously

2. Announcements:

a. AAUP President (M. A. Mahony)

    • The Chapter meeting will be on Wednesday, from 3 to 4:30pm. CSU-AAUP President Elena Tapia will be there to answer questions.

b. SUOAF-AFSCME President (L. Bigelow)

    • The executive board meeting is tomorrow, 8:30-10am, and the legislative breakfast is on October 28, from 8 to 9:30am, in the Connecticut Room.

c. SGA (J. Effend)

    • Competition for a Cause is happening again this year. It is a canned food drive on campus.
    • SGA is preparing or planning several events, on topics such as equity and discrimination.

d. FAC to the Board of Regents (S. Adair)

    • On Friday, the FAC passed a resolution urging the BOR to amend its policy on privacy (or absence thereof) to clarify that research data involving human subjects is private.
    • System Provost Jane Gates wants to make changes to intellectual property rules, and said that she would work with the FAC on this issue.

e. President of the Senate (S. Cohen)

    • President Cohen has appointed faculty members to various ad hoc university committees. Timothy Bell of the Accounting department has been appointed to the Pouring Rights Reprocurement Committee (having to do with soda machines), and Michelle Kusaila of the same department has been appointed to the Bookstore Reprocurement Committee.
    • BOR President Ojakian has established focus groups on recruitement and retention. We need three faculty volunteers for each focus group; the recruitment group will meet on Thursday, November 10, and the retention group will meet on Tuesday, November 15. Both groups will meet at 61 Woodland Street.
    • The ad hoc committee that was created to address the SGA's concerns last year has met with SGA on Friday. The goas is to discuss issues such as the possible creation of a syllabus repository, and open education resources.
    • The BOR will meet at CCSU on October 20. The identity of CCSU's 13th President will be revealed.
    • The Registrar has been asked to provide information about classroom usage for this year.

3. Elections

a. Distinguished Service Award Committee (1 seat)

    • Charisse Levchak elected to the committee

4. Committee Reports

a. Curriculum Committee (B. Merenstein)

    • Approved unanimously

5. Unfinished Business:

    a. Resolution on University Planning and Budget Committee (D. Blitz)

    • Senator Blitz spoke of the importance of being informed about the state of CCSU's budget, especially with a new president arriving.
    • CCSU-AAUP President Mahony said that, because state funding has declined and our budget is more enrollment-dependent than before, involving faculty in budget decisions would require meeting in the summer. She also urged the UPBC to look at audited financial statements, not just budgets.
    • UPBC Chair Robert Wolff said that, in some cases, the committee's ability to answer some questions may be limited.
    • Several faculty spoke in favor of the resolutions, citing the need for accountability.
    • Resolution approved unanimously


    b. Promotion and Tenure Committee bylaws

    • Approved unanimously

6. Adjournment

    • The meeting adjourned at 4:17pm.