[ MEMBERSHIP 2018-19 ]


Steven Block (Criminology and Criminal Justice) 19

Rebecca Boncoddo (Psychological Science) 19

Eric Leonidas (English) 20

Carmela Pesca (Modern Languages) 20

Christina Robinson (Economics) 20

Julie Schnobrich-Davis (Criminology and Criminal Justice) 19


Fan He (Finance) 20

Elisabeta Pana (Finance) 20


Michael Bartone (Literacy, Elementary, and Early Childhood Education) 20

Wangari Gichiru (Educational Leadership, Policy, and Instructional Technology) 19


Dan Chase (Biomolecular Sciences) 20

Cairn Ely (Engineering) 19

Steve Kirstukas (Engineering) 19

Sadie Marjani (Biology) 19


Ammon School of Arts and Sciences: Rick Roth

School of Business: Cristina Higham

School of Education and Professional Studies: Mary Pat Bigley

School of Engineering, Science and Technology: Olusegun Odesina


vacant (2)


Larry Hall

Ray Hernandez

Patrick Tucker

[ MISSION ]    

The Academic Standards Committee reviews a variety of University standards and makes recommendations to the Faculty Senate regarding these standards. The committee reviews standards for undergraduate admission, standards for probation and dismissal from any undergraduate program, standards for admission and termination of studies in any undergraduate professional program, and standards in matters related to a student’s academic program. 

I. Membership

  • Faculty members shall be elected by their undergraduate schools for renewable 2 year terms with: six from the Carol A. Ammon College of Liberal Arts and Social Sciences, two from the School of Business, two from the School of Education & Professional Studies and four from the School of Engineering, Science, and Technology.
  • One faculty member (AAUP or SUOAF-AFSCME) appointed by the Dean of each of the undergraduate schools, all ex officio and voting.
  • The Director of Admissions, the Registrar, and the Vice President for Student Affairs, or their appointed representatives, all ex officio and non-voting.
  • Two students selected by the Student Government Association for renewable one-year terms.

II. Organization

A. Elections

1. The Academic Standards Committee (ASC) shall organize itself as follows:

a. The officers shall consist of a chair, vice-chair and secretary, and must be faculty members elected by their undergraduate schools.

b. The election for the chair of the committee for any academic year shall be held at the last meeting of the previous academic year, and shall be the first agenda item following approval of the minutes of the previous meeting. A majority shall be needed for election. The newly elected chair shall assume his or her duties upon adjournment of this meeting.

c. The election for the vice-chair and secretary of the committee for any academic year shall be held at the first meeting of the academic year, and shall be the first agenda item following approval of the minutes of the previous meeting. A majority shall be needed for election. The newly elected vice-chair and secretary shall assume his or her duties upon adjournment of this meeting.

d. The newly elected chair shall be responsible for creating the meeting schedule for the upcoming academic year, for reserving meeting rooms, and for informing the members of the committee of the dates, times and locations of the meetings. The first meeting shall be held not later than the fourth week of classes of the Fall semester.

B. Duties of the Officers

1. The Chair

a. Shall call and preside at all meetings.

b. Shall draw up and circulate an agenda at least 7 days in advance of each monthly or special meeting.

c. Shall represent ASC in all University matters or provide for representation.

d. May participate in debate as any other member, and vote in case of a tie, or according to Robert’s Rules of Order in its latest edition.

e. Shall serve a one-year term and may not serve more than three consecutive terms.

2. The Vice Chair

a. Shall assume all of the chair’s duties in the absence of the chair. If the chair cannot complete the term, then the vice chair shall become the chair for the remainder of the term.

b. Shall be replaced if the position is vacated prior to the expiration of the term, via a special election held at the next regularly scheduled meeting following normal procedures for electing officers.

c. Shall serve a one-year term and may not serve more than three consecutive terms.

3. The Secretary

a. Shall keep a record of the proceedings of each meeting, including a correct statement of every motion made and the manner in which it was disposed; the names of the members of all committees and of all other officers of the body; a true copy of every resolution acted upon, with the affirmative and negative votes cast thereon; and all other transactions of each session and its meetings.

b. Shall be responsible for maintaining the permanent records of ASC and the distribution and /or posting of ASC minutes to all ASC members and other required or interested parties within 20 days following the meeting.

c. Shall distribute or post by the second meeting of each academic year the duties and responsibilities of ASC and its bylaws to all members.

4. Committees

a. Special Committees, with the concurrence of the ASC, may be formed to investigate or consider special matters.

III. Floor Procedures

A. Robert’s Rules of Order, in its latest edition, shall be considered authoritative for all questions of parliamentary procedure.

B. The Chair shall provide each member with an agenda, including a copy of every main motion for general business, at least seven (7) days in advance of the meeting at which the main motions are to be voted on. However, upon a unanimous concurrence of the ASC members present, this 7-day advance may be waived.

C. The chair shall include on the agenda any item proposed by any ASC member according to the rules outlined in III.B above.  

D. Regular ASC meetings shall be held each month of the academic year, but if the chair determines that there are no significant committee reports, unfinished business or new business for the agenda, then the chair may postpone a regular meeting to the next month.

E. On the petition of any five (5) members of the ASC, the chair must call a special meeting within two calendar weeks of receipt of the petition unless a regular meeting is scheduled within three weeks of receipt of the petition. The chair has authority to call a special meeting. The agenda for a special meeting must be circulated 7 days in advance.

F. A quorum at any regular or special meeting will consist of more than 50% of voting members (not including student members), and represent at least two schools. The quorum for special committees shall not be less than one-third of its membership or two (2) persons, whichever is greater.

G. The order of business normally shall be: call to order, approval of minutes of the previous meeting, announcements, committee reports, unfinished business, new business, and adjournment.

IV. Amendments and Changes in Bylaws

A. Amendments and additions to the bylaws may be made by a vote of two thirds of the voting members present at a regularly scheduled meeting, provided a quorum is present. Amendments are subject to approval by the Faculty Senate.

V. Functions and Responsibilities

The Academic Standards Committee reviews and recommends to the Faculty Senate undergraduate academic standards and policies including:

A. Admission to the University.

B. Good standing, probation and dismissal from the University.

C. Admission, retention, and dismissal from any undergraduate professional program of the University.

D. Matters related to a student’s academic program such as:

  • Academic loads
  • Academic awards
  • Academic eligibility for extracurricular activities
  • Withdrawal from class
  • Grading system
  • Transfer credit policies
  • Class attendance
  • Graduation

Approved by the Faculty Senate: May 2, 2016