CCSU Logo Curriculum Lab Logo


 Laura Ingalls Wilder Medal



1995     1980     1970

Description of the Award





Laura Ingalls Wilder Award 




What is the Laura Ingalls Wilder Award?

This award honors and author or illustrator whose books, published in the United States,  have made a substantial and lasting contribution to literature for children.


Who decides the winner?

The Association for Library Service to Children (ALSC,) a division of the American Library Association, administers this award.  Six members from ALSC review nominations from the members of ALSC and determine a slate of nominees. Members of ALSC vote by mail ballot from the selected slate of nominees.


When did the award begin?

The Laura Ingalls Winder Award began in 1954 to honor the creator of the Little House books.  It was first given every 5 years; then it was given every 3 years.  Beginning in 2001, it will be given every 2 years.


What special criteria are used to select this award?

A primary consideration, that the books made a "substantial and lasting" contribution, means that children continue to read and enjoy the books.  Another consideration is the literary or artistic merit of the work by the author or illustrator created for children up to age fourteen.  The books considered must be published in the United States.  The author need not be living, but some portion of the work must have occurred in the twenty-five years prior to nomination.


Why is it called the Laura Ingalls Wilder Award?

Laura Ingalls Wilder wrote the well known series of Little House books describing her family's life in the Wisconsin woods and Kansas prairie in the late 1800's.  Laura Ingalls Wilder (1867-1957) wrote her first book, The Little House in the Big Woods in 1932 when she was 65 years old.


What does the award look like?

The circular bronze award features the picture of a little girl surrounded by the words, LAURA INGALLS WILDER AWARD.  It was designed my Garth Williams who illustrated the Little House series. 




2007 James Marshall
2005 Laurence Yep
2003 Eric Carle
2001 Milton Meltzer
1998 Russell Freedman
1995 Virginia Hamilton
1992  Marcia Brown
1989 Elizabeth George Speare
1986 Jean Fritz
1983 Maurice Sendak
1980 Theodor S. Geisel (Dr. Seuss)
1975 Beverly Cleary
1970 E.B. White
1965 Ruth Sawyer
1960 Clara Ingram Judson
1954 Laura Ingalls Wilder



Connect to the Laura Ingalls Wilder Award Site 




Link to Award Books Link to Top of Page Link to HomePage
Return to Award Books Return to Top of Page Return to Curriculum Lab Home Page