CCSU Logo Curriculum Lab Logo


 Mildred L. Batchelder Award

for Translated Children's Books

located in the Curriculum Lab


2005  2000   1995   1990   

1985   1980   1975  1970   

Description of the Award





 Mildred L. Batchelder Award 




What is the Mildred L. Batchelder Award?

This citation is awarded to an American publisher for a children's book, for children up to age 14, considered to be the most outstanding translated book of the year.  Eligible books must first be published in a foreign language in a foreign country and subsequently published in the United States.


Who decides the winner?

The ALSC (Association of Library Service to Children) Division of ALA (American Library Association) selects the winner. 


When did the award begin?

The award was established in 1966.  Before 1979, the award was given every two years. Since 1979, the award is given every year.  In 1994, honor recipients were also selected.


What special criteria are used to select this award?

In addition to being a translated book, the book must reflect the culture of the original country.  Primary attention is directed to the text.  Picture books may be considered if the text is substantial and if it is as important as the pictures.  The translation must reflect the style of the original author and not be an abridgement. Folk literature is not eligible.


Why is it called the Mildred L. Batchelder Award?

The award honors Mildred L. Batchelder, a former executive director of the Association of Library Service to Children (ALSC), a division of ALA.  Ms. Batchelder worked with children as a public librarian, school librarian and at St. Cloud State Teachers College in Minnesota before joining ALA.   She is characterized as "an ambassador to the world on behalf of children and promoted the translation of the world's best children's literature."


What does the award look like?

The winning publisher receives a citation and a plaque.  The oval plaque states "The Batchelder Award" in the center.  Wording across the top edge is "Association for Library Service to Children."  Wording across the bottom edge is "American Library Association."



All nominated titles listed.  Winner in bold.

2007 Maudet, Y. (Delacorte) Mourlevat, Jean-Claude PULL OF THE OCEAN   (YP  M931pu)
  Maudet, Y. (Delacorte) Bondoux, Anne-Laure KILLER'S TEARS
  Hyperion/Miramax DeMari, Silvana LAST DRAGON   (YP  D372la)
2006 Arthur A Levine (Scholastic)/Michael Hofmann Holub, Josef AN INNOCENT SOLDIER  (YP  H658in)
  Phaidon Press Limited/Anthea Bell Goscinny, Rene NICHOLAS  (J G676ni)
  Bloomsbury Children's Books/Adriana Hunter Zenatti, Valerie WHEN I WAS A SOLDIER  (YP  Z54wh)
2005 Delacorte Press (Random)/Catherine Temerson Stolz, Joelle SHADOWS OF GHADAMES  (YP S876sh)
  Farrar Straus Giroux/Faith Ingwersen Bredsdorff, Bodill CROW-GIRL: THE CHILDREN OF CROW GIRL  (YP B831cr)
  Richard Jacson (Simon & Schuster)/Doris Orgel Chotjewitz, David DANIEL HALF HUMAN AND THE GOOD NAZI  (YP C557da)
2004 Walter Lorraine Books (Houghton Mifflin)/ Hillel Halkin Orlev, Uri RUN BOY RUN  (YP O71ru)
2003 Chicken House (Scholastic)/ Oliver Latsch Funke, Cornelia THIEF LORD
David R. Godine/ John Barrett Johansen, Hanna HENRIETTA AND THE GOLD EGGS


2002 Cricket Books Carus Publishing/ James Skofield Gundisch, Karin HOW I BECAME AN AMERICAN (YP G975ho)
Penguin Putnam Viking/ Gill Rosner Morgenstern, Susie A BOOK OF COUPONS (j m851BO)


2001 Scholastic/ Arthur A. Levine         Carmi, Daniella SAMIR AND YONATAN (C287sa)
David R. Godine/ William Rodarmor Lehmann, Christian ULTIMATE GAME


2000 Walker & Co./ John Nieuwenhuizen Quintana, Anton THE BABOON KING
Farrar, Straus & Giroux/   Peter F. Neumeyer Buchholz, Quint COLLECTOR OF MOMENTS
R&S Books/ PatriciaCrampton                Bjork, Christiana VENDELA IN VENICE
Front St/Wanda Boeke Holtwijk, Ineke ASPHALT ANGELS (YP H758as)


1999 Dial/James Skofield Rabinovici, Schoschana THANKS TO MY MOTHER  (YP 940.53 R116th)
Viking/ Gill Rosner Morgenstern, Susie SECRET LETTERS FROM 0 TO 10


1998 Henry Holt/ Elizabeth D. Crawford Holub, Josef THE ROBBER AND ME
Scholastic/ Anna Trenter Wassilijewa, Tatjana HOSTAGE TO WAR: A TRUE STORY
Viking/ Doris Orgel Heidenrich, Elke NERO CORLEONE: A CAT'S STORY


1997 Farrar, Straus & Giroux/ Cathy Hirano Yumoto, Kazumi THE FRIENDS (YP Y95fr)


1996 Houghton Mifflin/ Hillel Halkin Orlev, Uri THE LADY WITH THE HAT
Henry Holt/ Elizabeth D. Crawford Van Dijk, Lutz DAMNED STRONG LOVE: THE TRUE STORY OF WILLI G. AND STEPHAN K.
Walker & Co./ Mark Polizzotti Hoestlandt, Jo STAR OF FEAR, STAR OF HOPE


1995 Dutton/ Anthea Bell Reuter, Bjarne THE BOYS FROM ST. PETRI


1994 Farrar,Straus & Giroux/ Robin Longshaw Llorente, Pilar Moina THE APPRENTICE (J M722ap)
Farrar/ Johanna H. Prins & Johanna W. Prins Heymans, Annemie & Margriet THE PRINCESS IN THE KITCHEN GARDEN (JPB Heymans)
Viking/ Tony Langham & Plym Peters Van der Rol, Ruud & Verhoeven, Rian ANNE FRANK BEYOND THE DIARY: A PHOTOGRAPHIC REMEMBRANCE  (YP 940.53 V473an)


1993 No Award Given


1992 Houghton Mifflin/ Hillel Halkin Orlev, Uri THE MAN FROM THE OTHER SIDE (J O71ma)


1991 E.P. Dutton/ Rika Lesser Schami, Rafik A HAND FULL OF STARS (YP S299ha)


1990 E.P. Dutton/ Anthea Bell Reuter, Bjarne BUSTER'S WORLD (J R447bu)


1989 Lothrop,Lee & Shepard/ Elizabeth D. Crawford Hartling, Peter CRUTCHES (YP H957cr)


1988 McElderry/ Lone Thygesen Clecher & George Blecher Nilsson, Ulf IF YOU DIDN'T HAVE ME (J N712if)


1987 Lothrop,Lee & Shepard/ Patricia Crampton Rudolph, Frank  NO HERO FOR THE KAISER


1986 Creative Education/ Martha Coventry & Ricard Craglia Gallaz, Christophe & Innocenti, Robert ROSE BLANCHE (JPB Innocenti)


1985 Houghton Mifflin/ Hillel Halkin Orlev, Uri THE ISLAND ON BIRD STREET (J O71li)


1984 Viking/ Patricia Crampton Lindgren, Astrid RONIA, THE ROBBER'S DAUGHTER (J L745r)


1983 Lothrop,Lee & Shepard/ Kurita-Bando Literary Agency Maruki, Toshi HIROSHIMA NO PIKA (J 940.54 M389h)


1982 Bradbury Press/ George Blecher & Lone Thygesen Blecher Kullman, Harry BATTLE HORSE


1981 William Morrow/ Maryka & Raphael Rudnik Pelgrom, Els THE WINTER WHEN TIME WAS FROZEN


1980 E.P. Dutton/ Edward Fenton Zei, Aliki THE SOUND OF THE DRAGON'S FEET


1979 Harcourt Brace Javonovich/ Ann Conrad Lammers Steiner, Jorg RABBIT ISLAND
1979 Franklin Watts/ Anthe Bell Nostlinger, Christine KONRAD


1978 No Award Given


1977 Atheneum/ Gunnar Poulsen Bodker, Cecil THE LEOPARD (J B667l)


1976 Henry Z. Walck/ Anthea Bell Hurlimann, Ruth THE CAT AND MOUSE WHO SHARED A HOUSE


1975 Crown/ Maria Polushkin Linevskii, A. AN OLD TALE CARVED OUT OF STONE (J L754o)


1974 E.P. Dutton/ Edward Fenton Zei, Aliki PETROS' WAR


1973 William Morrow/ Alexander & Alison Gode Iterson, S. R. PULGA (J I88p)


1972 Holt,Rinehart & Winston/ Edite Kroll Richter, Hans Peter FRIEDRICH (YP R535f)


1971 Pantheon Books/ Stella Humphries Baumann, Hans IN THE LAND OF UR, THE DISCOVERY OF ANCIENT MESOPOTAMIA


1970 Holt,Rinehart & Winston/ Edward Fenton Zei, Aliki WILDCAT UNDER GLASS


1969 Charles Scribner's/ Lise Somme McKinnon Friis-Baastad, Babbis DON'T TAKE TEDDY (YP M111d)


1968 Alfred A.Knopf/ James Kirkup Kastner, Erich THE LITTLE MAN



Connect to the  American Library Association

Mildred L. Batchelder Award Site 




Link to Award Books Link to Top of Page Link to HomePage
Return to Award Books Return to Top of Page Return to Curriculum Lab Home Page