Diversity Committee – Minutes

Date: 9/13/19 Time: 12:30 pm Location: Kaiser Room 129

Attendance: Ayotte, Kate (LearningCenter), Bishop, Jan (PEHP), Clark, Barbara (LitElEdChldEd), Fields, Amanda (English), Leong, Chee-hoi (PEHP), Love, Kurt (EdLeadPolicyInstTech), Mackey, Megan (SpEd), Mitrano, John (Sociology), Patterson, Yvonne (Social Work), Thomas, Catherine (Nursing)

- Welcome by Jan Bishop, Chair
- Introductions: Megan Mackey, Vice-Chair, Members in attendance
- Structure of the committee explained:
 - O Name: Faculty Senate Diversity Committee is not accurate. The Diversity Committee is a standing committee of the whole faculty vs. a standing committee of the faculty senate. This means its correct name is simply "Diversity Committee". That is how it is listed on the FS webpage but its separate webpage says "Faculty Senate Diversity Committee".
 - o Consider changing the name to reflect trend toward equity and inclusion.
- Secretary Election: Byung Lee elected
- Commission on Diversity, Equity and Inclusion.
 - o Jan Bishop was elected as the liaison.
 - Megan Mackey was elected to serve as alternate and Catherine Thomas as backup alternate.
 - o Discussed need to craft a new by-law to establish the procedure in the future for determining who will serve in this position.
 - Discussion included the idea that someone with experience on the diversity committee should represent the group
- Diversity Curriculum Grant
 - Announcement that President Toro has allocated \$20,000 for 2019-20 Curriculum Development Grants
 - o Discussion on having a showcase event for last year's grants
 - o Discussion on creating a written brochure highlighting each grant.
- Diversity Survey
 - Jan described the 2 report summaries and will distribute them to the committee to look at prior to the next meeting.
- New ideas
 - o Idea of a student competition for diversity-themed poster, or video etc. Perhaps team up with the student center.
 - Hope to generate ideas for future actions based on the information in the surveys
 - Future ideas may come as supports to work from the Commission on Diversity, Equity and Inclusion
- Established subcommittee membership and leadership
 - o Two subcommittees were combined under a new name: "Media & Outreach".
 - o For subcommittee membership list, see end of report.

• Website reviewed – needs for updates

Jan agreed to see if the subcommittee can get more direct access to the webpage as trying to describe the additions of pictures, video etc. is difficult in present process.

Meeting adjourned: 1:30 pm Minutes submitted by: Jan Bishop

Subcommittee Membership

Note: Leader is underlined

Unconfirmed: Individuals who served on subcommittees last year

Survey Subcommittee:

Jan Bishop, Megan Mackey, Barbara Clark

Workshops Subcommittee:

Yvonne Patterson, Amanda Fields, Kate Ayotte

(Uncomfirmed: Rocio Fuentes, Mohammad Rahman, Gwen Brathwaite, Timothy Scott)

Media and Outreach Subcommittee:

Chee-hoi Leong, Byung Lee

(Unconfirmed: Mohammad Rahman, Dragana Marosz, Gladys Moreno-Fuentes, Jelane Kennedy, Abdullah Ozer)

Mentorship Subcommittee:

Kurt Love

(Unconfirmed: Joss French, Gwen Brathwaite)

Grants Subcommittee:

<u>Jan Bishop</u>, Catherine Thomas, John Mitrano, Barbara Clark, Chee-hoi Leong Grants Review Group: Kate Ayotte

Bylaws Subcommittee:

Megan Mackey