Charter of the University Planning and Budget Committee

The University Planning and Budget Committee advises the President, within the context of the University’s mission, through the Senate, on the long-term goals, strategic planning process and budgetary priorities of the University. It provides a forum for the discussion of planning and budgetary issues so that recommendations reflect the concerns of the entire campus community.

The Committee will

  • recommend to the President criteria and principles which the University should consider in determining its programmatic priorities, and make specific recommendations based on current conditions and the University’s mission and vision statements.
  • evaluate planning and budget processes and recommend changes as needed.
  • complete an annual review of divisional budget proposals and make recommendations to the President
  • participate in the periodic review of the University’s mission and vision statements.
  • develop parameters for strategic planning initiatives, including mechanisms to solicit, review and recommend proposals.
  • consult in the creation and implementation of the University’s strategic planning process.
  • serve as a forum for discussion and advice concerning general budget matters.
  • maintain a representatives on the University Facilities Planning Committee (FPC) and University Integrated Planning Council (IPC)

The Committee will report to the President through the Senate and will choose its own chairperson, vice chairperson and secretary. Members of the Committee will serve three-year terms and may serve two consecutive terms. Elected teaching and administrative faculty will be selected for staggered terms. Students, upon nomination, will be appointed annually by the President. The Committee’s membership will be composed as follows:

  • nine members of the teaching faculty, one of whom will be part-time, with at least one representative from each school, elected by the Senate; for staggered three year terms.
  • six members of the administrative faculty elected by the Senate; for staggered three year terms.
  • two at-large members (one teaching faculty member and one administrative faculty member) appointed by the President; for staggered three year terms.

The following will be appointed annually by the president, upon nomination:

    • one full time and one part time undergraduate student recommended by the Student Government Association.
    • one graduate student recommended by the Graduate Student Association

Ex officio members include the Provost and the Associate Vice President for Academic Affairs – Planning and Resources. The Associate Vice President of Planning and Institutional Effectiveness and the Chief Financial Officer serve ex officio and provide support to the Committee. Others may be invited to meet with the committee as matters arise.

All members of the committee who are AAUP faculty, administrative faculty, or students, will maintain voting rights. The ballot for UPBC will contain two sections, one for AAUP faculty and one for administrative faculty, with a third section in years when the part-time AAUP faculty seat is up for election (2018, 2021, 2024, etc.)”

Meeting Times
UPBC ordinarily meets on the first and third Tuesday of the month from 1:45 - 3:00pm during the academic semesters. Committee will function over the summer as necessary with the same membership and officers as it had the previous year.

University Integrated Planning Council (IPC) representation
​AAUP (1) and SUOAF (1) representatives to the IPC will be elected by the UPBC and will serve for one year from the start of the fall semester to the start of the following fall semester.

The University Planning and Budget Committee will provide an annual written report to the Senate at an appropriate time near the end of each academic year. The report will contain recommended priorities and a summary of the Committee’s findings, actions and recommendations for the year.





Jason Melnyk
Professor, Department of Physical Education & Human Performance

Jason Snyder, Professor, Marketing

Judy Hodgson, Lecturer, Mathematical Sciences

Questions for the committee? Submit here

Historical Expenditure Information

Draft Strategic Plan 2030

University Projects Status Summary