Minutes - November 13, 2017 - 3:05pm


Present: Adair, S. Anton, M. Austad, C. Bell, T. Bernstein, S. Best, F. Bishop, R. Boscarino, N. Callery, T. Clark, B. Criscola, J. Crundwell, G. Dhar, P. Emiliani, B. Farhat, J. Foster, P. Gamache, J. Garcia, V. Ghodsi, R. Givens, E. Hughes, H. Jackson, M. Kapper, M. Kean, K. Kim, Y. Kyem, P. Langevin, K. Latour, F. Leonidas, E. LoGiudice, S. Martin-Troy, K. McGuire, M. Menoche, C. Minor, L. Misbach, K. Mongillo, M. Morales, A. Moreno-Fuentes, G. Nelson, W. Ngazimbi, E. Orange, M. Oyewumi, O. Paolino, J. Patterson, Y. Phillips, E. Sadanand, N. Sakaki, H. Sohn, Y. Spear, E. Spillman, D. Stickland, A. Styrczula, S. Sweeney, D. Tafrate, L. Thornton, E. Watson, S. Williams, C. Williams, L.

Ex-Officio: Fitzgerald, G.; Kremens, Z.; Pease, S.; Sommers, B.

Parliamentarian: Dimmick, C.

President of the Senate: Cohen, S.

Guests: Jean Alicandro (Food Service Task Force Chair); Cassandra Broadus-Garcia (Art; Academic Assessment Committee); Charles Button (Geography); Yvonne Kirby (Office of Institutional Research and Assessment); Brendan Kruh (SGA); Otis Mamed (Food Service Task Force); James Murlooney (Biomolecular Sciences; Academic Assessment Committee); Mary Anne Nunn (English; Academic Assessment Committee; Richard Piotrowski (Food Service Task Force); Rachel Siporin (Art; Academic Assessment Committee)

1. Minutes

a. Minutes of November 13, 2017

  • Approved unanimously

2. Announcements:

a. AAUP President (L. Williams)

    • Reminder: Part-time faculty members must be represented in department matters according to the new contract. If your department by-laws do not provide for some kind of part-time faculty representation, they must be amended.

b. SUOAF-AFSCME President (L. Bigelow)

    • No announcements.

c. SGA (B. Kruh)

    • Competition for a Cause is happening again this year (until November 17); some of the food will be donated to Maria's Place, an on-campus food pantry. Contact the SGA if you would like to have a donations box.
    • 11 CCSU students attended a national convention on student leadership and diversity.
    • The SGA wants to discuss first-year experiences with the Curriculum Committee and the Faculty Senate.
    • The "Good Neighbor Campaign", which promotes good relationships between the CCSU student community and New Britain residents, is still going, with information pamphlets for residents, trash pick-up by students, and an event at the New Britain Police Station.

d. FAC to the Board of Regents (S. Adair)

    • The FAC met on November 10, with President Ojakian in attendance. A major topic of discussion was the "Students First" initiative. It was claimed that a financial statement clarifying the degrees of savings would be available when the plan is presented to the BOR in December.
    • The FAC will present to the BOR on December 9. The entirety of the remarks will be about "Students First".

e. President of the Senate (S. Cohen)

    • The Provost's Office reminds us of the three BOR faculty awards (teaching, research, part-time faculty). The application deadline is November 23.

3. Committee Reports

a. Food Service Task Force (J. Alicandro and M. Warshauer)

    • The PowerPoint presentation was shown to the Senate.

4. New Business

a. DEC Exception

    • Approved unanimously

b. Committee on Committees (A. Stickland)

    • Online Learning Committee bylaws
    • Motion to amend (Latour/Best) by striking the outdated Spring 2017 election provision
      • Approved (one senator opposed)
      • New bylaws approved, as amended (one senator opposed)
    • Senator Crundwell objected to some provisions of the bylaws of the committee (#1 and #5 in the Primary Functions); he believes that these provisions infringe upon Academic Freedom.
    • Motion (Bell/Crundwell): to refer the bylaws of the committee to the Committee on Academic Freedom to address these issues.
      • Approved unanimously

c. Academic Assessment Committee (C. Broadus-Garcia)

d. Feedback on "Students First"

    • Motion (Cohen/Best): To approve the above document, which will be sent to the BOR, President Ojakian, and his chief of staff.
      • Approved unanimously

5. Adjournment

  • The meeting adjourned at 4:37pm.